general

The guide for Wildswimming in the Alps

Alpine Swimming is the upper-class of wildswimming

I am pleased that you have found the-hopefully not too stony-way to my alpine-swimming-blog. But what has one to imagine now exactly under the concept of Alpine-swimming that I have coined? Alpine Swimming is for me everything you need to know about wildswimming in the Alps, i.e. the wild Alpine swimming. Depending on the location, this also includes a more or less distinct swim-hiking component. Wild dipping, on the other hand, refers to activities that are more about wild bathing than swimming-this will also have its place here.

Continue Reading…

Trips

Swim-Holidays: Enjoyment swimming in Croatia

The most beautiful and most enjoyable swimming holidays under the sun? Please, here they are: a wonderful swimming area that invites you to go island hopping, relaxing sight-swimming and swimming with dolphins. German-speaking hosts who, in their pretty apartments, do their utmost to pamper their guests and serve them with local delicacies. A dedicated and competent tour guide including swimming guiding by experienced open water swimmers, which responds to each group member and ensures that it remains safe and enjoyable in the water for everyone. Whether single traveler, family or group – pleasure guaranteed!

Continue Reading…

Swims

Hiking & Swimming in the Alps: My new mine-swimming-tour

Mount Petzen in the Austrian-Slovenian border area houses in its interior mine tunnels of a total of several hundred kilometers in length. After the mine operation ceased in the sixties and the water was no longer pumped out, some of the lower mining horizons were flooded, creating underground lakes with crystal clear water about 8 degree Celsius. In December 2018 I swam there and will offer this adventure from 2019 as part of guided tours to other Wildswimming friends.

Continue Reading…

easy tours, Swims, Trips

Hiking and swimming in the Alps – pleasureswimming in Croatia

A few impressions from my recent exploration trip to the south. Starting next year, I will offer guided tours and swim packages under the umbrella brand SWIMSALABIM. At the alpine-swimming tours & holidays the alpine swim-hike component is in the foreground. At pleasure-swimminging tours & holidays, the focus is on enjoyable swimming in particularly beautiful – even maritime – locations within an attractive, authentic culinary / cultural program.

Continue Reading…

dips

Wildswimming in the Almbach Gorge

The Almbachklamm at Marktschellenberg - a beautiful canyon hike to inviting Wildswimming spots.

The Almbachklamm (Almbach Gorge) is located about 10 km west of the city of Salzburg in the municipality of the Bavarian Marktschellenberg. It offers a worthwhile ravine hike with a lot of height difference, interesting information boards and Germany’s last ball mill. Depending on the water level, however, it also has several sometimes quite spectacular spots for wild swimming or wild dipping.

Continue Reading…

Swims

Wildswimming in the quarry

Wildswimming in the quarry

For a change this time a trip to “non-alpine waters”. Around the Saxon Bischofswerda you will find abandoned quarries, which are perfect for wild swimming. (Naked) wildswimming has been going on here for decades, even though it is officially forbidden for liability reasons.

Continue Reading…

easy tours, Trips

Alpineswimming in the Krummschnabelsee

Alpineswimming in the Krummschnabelsee (Lake Krummschnabel) Obertauern

Although the Krummschnabelsee is located in Obertauern at about 1800 m above sea level it gets up to 24 degrees warm in summer. Because it also offers a high alpine panorama and with the nearby Hochalm a perfect rest stop, the moorlake is ideal for relaxed wild swimming in the context of a simple alpine swimming trip.

Continue Reading…

dips

Wilddipping in the Fischbach near Unken

The Heutal (Hayvalley) is a lovely high valley above the community Unken on the Austrian-Bavarian border. It is the starting point of a highly recommended ravine walk with two impressive waterfalls and countless beautiful spots for wilddipping.

Continue Reading…

easy tours, Trips

Alpineswimming idyll at the upper Bockhartsee

Ein Bergesse wie geschaffen fürs alpine swimming - der obere Bockhartsee

Up on alpine swimming? Off to Bockhartsee !

From Bad Gastein it goes on a toll road to Sportgastein. Arrived at the bottom of the valley it is best to leave the car at the hiking car park in front of the Valeriehaus. Alternatively, it’s now more comfortable on the supply road or direct and steeper over the walkway up to Bockhartseehütte. Even here, the mountain panorama is breathtaking and stirs the expectation on the Bockhartsee. This anticipation is also more than justified. At least as far as the upper Bockhartsee is concerned.

Continue Reading…

Swims

Wildswimming the Kozjak waterfall

Wildswimming im spektakulären Kozjak Wasserfall in Kobarid

The Kozjak waterfall – beautiful, loud, challenging

The Soca Valley is not only an El Dorado for kayakers and rafting fans, but also for those who have dedicated themselves to wild swimming. In addition to the eternally seductive Soca itself, there are countless beautiful bathing areas along tributaries, waterfall pots and mountain lakes. One of the most beautiful and spectacular spots is certainly the easily accessible Kozjak waterfall, which is located near Kobarid. 

Continue Reading…

general

The gentle art of wildswimming

Der Hüttensee in den Schladminger Tauern - ein Wildswimming Paradies

When it comes to water quality, there is nothing in public pools without a “chemical club”. For the most part, chlorine is used as a disinfectant, both critically considering environmental and health concerns. At wild bathing and -swimming, we rely on the natural cleanliness and self-cleaning power of our waters. Keeping both, as well as the conscious use of natural resources in and around these waters, should be a top priority for us Wildswimmers. Because wildswimming does not mean that we are allowed to perform outside like the “wild ones”. But on the contrary!

Continue Reading…

moderate tours, Trips

Wildswimming the Filbingsee

The Filbingsee lies in a small cirque over the Fuschlsee near Salzburg. It is accessible via a steep climb through the mountain forest in about an hour and offers a fantastic wildswimming experience. So one is worthily rewarded for the sweaty rise. That’s the way it should be with alpineswimming. Continue Reading…

Swims

A Wildswimming Quickie in the Wiestal

Perfect for a Wildswimming Quickie - Swimspot in the lower Wiestal

This spot near the Celtic city Hallein is not suitable for contemplative bathing pleasure. It is too close – though well hidden – to the busy Wiestal-mainroad. However, this location has advantages if you want to pursue a few “lengths” of its wild-swimming pleasure quickly and easily. Because the spot on the weir at the Hammerwirt is easily accessible, has a nice length and is usable regardless of the water level.

Continue Reading…

floating equipment, Tips

Oh buoy-never without my floating buoy?!

The buoy makes the open water swimmer well visible without obstructing him

The helmet for cycling-the floating buoy for wild swimming?!

It is already obligatory for many outdoor swimming events and is recommended to any responsible Openwater swimmer: the floating buoy. Baywatch fans know floating buoys still from the TV. The buxom Pamela Anderson and the sometimes also privately “moist-cheerful” David-Hasslehoff plunged daring into the floods. Today’s specimens – floating buoys mind you – have learned to do so. Continue Reading…

Allgemein

WANDERN & SCHWIMMEN IN DEN ALPEN

Alpine Swimming ist die Upper-Class von Wildswimming

Es freut mich, dass du den – hoffentlich nicht allzu steinigen – Weg zu meinem Alpine-Swimming-Blog gefunden hast. Was hat man sich aber nun genau unter dem von mir geprägten Begriff Alpine-Swimming vorzustellen ? Alpine Swimming  ist für mich alles, was man zum Wildswimming in den Alpen, also dem wilden alpinen Schwimmen, wissen sollte. Je nach Location beinhaltet das auch eine mehr oder weniger ausgeprägte Swim-Hiking Komponente. Mit Wilddipping sind hingegen Aktivitäten gemeint,  bei denen es mehr ums wilde Baden als ums Schwimmen geht – auch das wird hier seinen Platz haben.

Continue Reading…

Guided Tours & Holidays, Trips

Schwimm-Urlaub: Genussschwimmen Kroatien

Der schönste und genussvollste Schwimm-Urlaub unter der Sonne ? Bitte, hier ist er: ein herrliches Schwimmrevier, das zum Island-Hopping, zum entspannten Sight-Swimming und auch zum Schwimmen mit Delfinen einlädt. Deutsch sprechende Gastgeber, die in ihren schmucken Apartments alles daran setzen, ihre Gäste zu verwöhnen und mit heimischen Köstlichkeiten zu bewirten. Eine engagierte und kompetente Reiseleitung samt Schwimmguiding durch erfahrene Freiwasserschwimmer, die auf jedes Gruppenmitglied eingeht und dafür sorgt, dass es auch im Wasser für jeden stes sicher und genussvoll bleibt. Hier geht´s zum Detailprogramm. Ob Einzelreisender, Familie oder Gruppe – Genuss garantiert !

Continue Reading…

Extreme, Swims

Wandern & Schwimmen in den Alpen: Stollenschwimmen

Die Petzen im österreichisch-slowenischen Grenzgebiet beherbergt in ihrem Inneren Bergwerkstollen von rund 1000 Kilometern Länge. Nachdem in den sechziger Jahren der Bergwerksbetrieb eingestellt und das Wasser nicht mehr abgepumpt wurde, wurden einige der unteren Abbau-Horizonte geflutet und es entstanden unterirdische Seen mit kristallklarem, etwa 8 Grad kaltem, Wasser. Im Dember 2018 bin ich dort geschwommen und werde dieses Abenteuer ab 2019 im Rahmen geführter Touren auch anderen Wildswimming-Freunden anbieten.

Continue Reading…

Allgemein

Zum Wandern und Schwimmen in die Alpen – Zum Genuss-Schwimmen nach Kroatien

Ein paar Eindrücke von meinem unlängst durchgeführten Explorationstrip in den Süden. Ab dem nächsten Jahr werde ich unter der Dachmarke SWIMSALABIM geführte Touren und Schwimmpauschalen anbieten. Bei den alpine-swimming tours & holidays steht die alpine swim-hike Komponente im Vordergrund. Bei den pleasure-swiming tours & holidays liegt der Fokus auf Genuss-Schwimmen an besonders schönen – auch maritimen – Locations mit attraktivem, authentisch-kulinarisch/kulturellem Rahmenprogramm.

Continue Reading…

Dips

Die Almbachklamm In den Berchtesgadener Alpen lädt zum Wandern & Schwimmen

The Almbachklamm at Marktschellenberg - a beautiful canyon hike to inviting Wildswimming spots.

Die Almbachklamm befindet sich etwa 10 km westlich der Stadt Salzburg im Gemeindegebiet des bayrischen Marktschellenberg. Sie bietet eine lohnenswerte Schluchtenwanderung mit sehr viel Höhenunterschied, interessanten Infotafeln über die Holztrift und Deutschlands letzter Kugelmühle. Je nach Wasserstand weist sie aber auch mehrere zum Teil recht spektakuläre Spots fürs Wildswimming bzw. Wilddipping auf.

Continue Reading…

Dips, Easy

Wilddipping im Fischbach bei Unken

Das Heutal ist ein liebliches Hochtal oberhalb der Gemeinde Unken an der österreichisch-bayrischen Grenze. Es ist Ausgangspunkt einer äußerst empfehlenswerten Schluchtenwanderung mit zwei eindrucksvollen Wasserfällen und unzähligen schönen Badestellen.

Continue Reading…

einfache Touren, Trips

Bock auf wandern und schwimmen in den Alpen ? Ab zum Bockhartsee !

Ein Bergesse wie geschaffen fürs alpine swimming - der obere Bockhartsee

Alpineswimming-Idylle am oberen Bockhartsee

Von Bad Gastein aus geht´s über eine Mautstraße nach Sportgastein. Am Talboden angekommen am besten beim Wanderparkplatz vor dem Valeriehaus das Auto abstellen. Wahlweise geht´s jetzt gemütlicher über die Versorgungstraße oder direkter und steiler über den Gehweg rauf zur Bockhartseehütte. Schon hier ist das Bergpanorama atemberaubend und schürt die Erwartungshaltung auf den Bockhartsee. Diese Vorfreude ist auch mehr als gerechtfertigt. Zumindest was den oberen Bockhartsee betrifft.

Continue Reading…

Extreme

Wandern & Schwimmen am Kozjak Wasserfall – Julische Alpen

Wildswimming im spektakulären Kozjak Wasserfall in Kobarid

Der Kozjak Wasserfall – schön, laut, herausfordernd

Das Soca-Tal ist nicht nur für Kajakfahrer und Rafting-Fans ein El Dorado sondern auch für alle, die sich dem Wildswimming verschrieben haben. Neben der ewig lockenden verführerischen Soca selbst gibt es hier unzählige schöne Badestellen an Nebenflüssen, Wasserfalltöpfen und Bergseen. Einer der schönsten und spektakulärsten Spots ist sicherlich der nahe von Kobarid gelegene, leicht erreichbare Kozjak Wasserfall.

Continue Reading…

Allgemein

Wildswimming – die sanfte Art des Schwimmens

Der Hüttensee in den Schladminger Tauern - ein Wildswimming Paradies

In öffentlichen Pools geht in Sachen Wasserqualität ohne „chemische Keule“ gar nichts. Zumeist kommt das sowohl bezüglich Umwelt- als auch Gesundheitsbedenken kritisch zu betrachtende Chlor als Desinfektionsmittel zum Einsatz. Beim wilden Baden und Schwimmen vertrauen wir auf die natürliche Sauberkeit und Selbstreinigungskraft unserer Gewässer. Beides zu bewahren sowie der bewußte Umgang mit den natürlichen Ressourcen in und um diese Gewässer sollte für uns Wildswimmer alleroberste Priorität haben. Denn Wildswimming heißt beileibe nicht, dass wir uns draußen aufführen dürfen wie die „Wilden“. Ganz im Gegenteil !

Continue Reading…

Mittelschwere Touren, Trips

Wildswimming im Filbingsee

Der Filbingsee liegt in einem kleinen Kar über dem Salzburger Fuschlsee. Er ist über einen steilen Anstieg durch den Bergwald in etwa einer Stunde erreichbar und vermittelt ein Wildswimming Erlebnis wie man es sich schöner nicht vorstellen kann. Man wird also für den schweißtreibenden Anstieg würdig entlohnt. So soll es ja auch sein beim Alpineswimming.

Continue Reading…

Easy, Swims

Ein Wildswimming Quickie im unteren Wiestal

Perfect for a Wildswimming Quickie - Swimspot in the lower Wiestal

Dieser Spot nahe der Keltenstadt Hallein eignet sich nicht für beschauliches Badevergnügen. Dazu liegt er zu nahe – wenn auch gut versteckt – an der stark befahrenen Wiestal-Bundesstraße. Diese Lage hat aber durchaus Vorzüge, wenn man schnell und unkompliziert ein paar “Längen” seinem Wildswimming Vergnügen nachgehen will. Denn der Spot am Wehr beim Hammerwirt ist leicht erreichbar, hat eine schöne Länge und ist unabhängig vom Wasserstand nutzbar.

Continue Reading…

Schwimm-Ausrüstung, Tips

Oh buoy – niemals ohne meine Schwimmboje ?!

Die Schwimmboje macht den Freiwasserschwimmer gut sichtbar ohne ihn zu behindern

Der Helm fürs Radfahren – die Schwimmboje fürs Wild Swimming ?!

Sie ist bei vielen Freiwasser-Schwimm-Veranstaltungen bereits Pflicht und  jedem  verantwortungsvollen Openwater-Schwimmer zu empfehlen: die Schwimmboje. Baywatch-Fans kennen Schwimmbojen noch aus dem TV. Die dralle Pamela Anderson und der machmal auch privat „feucht-fröhliche“ David-Hasslehoff stürzten sich damit wagemutig in die Fluten. Die heutigen Exemplare – Schwimmbojen wohlgemerkt – haben allerdings dazu gelernt.

Continue Reading…